Trying to help singer build a band. Audition process is the pits.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by jakelly, Dec 12, 2013.

1. jakelly

jakelly

I've been working with this singer trying to help put together a band. When I came aboard about 3-4 weeks ago, the singer had a guitarist and drummer already in place. They are both gone now, and so is another guitarist. The drummer wasn't going to cut it anyway. We auditioned a guitarist a couple of days ago. He had first class equipment but couldn't play very well.

I would love to get a few musicians I know (or know of) to try out but they are already busy for the most part. I have very little experience auditioning potential band members, but I know the "if you show up you're in" approach doesn't work. :ninja: Any suggestions?

2. electracoyote

electracoyote

Start ups, and auditions, are the pits. All you can do is be resourceful, use every method known to man to find musicians and sell your idea, and don't give up.

On that note, the more solid your game plan, the more interest you'll be able to sustain. A lot of musicians are wary of start-ups.

3. GlennW

GlennW

Run an ad on CL, and make sure you mention that y'all are "professionals." Don't elaborate on what it means.

4. robd

robd Supporting Member

You need to be patient...it can take a while. Took me well over a year to get my last band in place, and it can be a very frustrating process.

You have to kiss a lot of toads before you find a prince

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. ddnidd1

ddnidd1 Supporting Member

Obviously the poster isn't a Pro. Don't waste everyone's time advertising as, and for, Pros.

7. jefkritz

jefkritz

Media:
    Albums:
    If your singer is good, that will help. Finding a good singer has always been the hardest for me. Except for maybe finding a good drummer...