trying to learn arco

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by oldfclefer, Jan 6, 2014.

1. oldfclefer

oldfclefer low ended Supporting Member

I'm a lifelong electric bassist, but in the past 5 years or so I took an interest in upright. I traded a Pastorius Tribute jazz for a 1968 Kay M3, a combo amp, and a Shure microphone. Probably didn't do so well on the trade, but the Kay was set up really nice. I found a Yamaha Silent Bass about a year before. Play it pitz, but the action's high and the bass is kind of tall for a shorter guy like me. Kind of rough to play too.
    Besides, the Kay sounds really sweet. It's shorter and like I said, the action's great, set up really well. I don't really want to take the Kay around to clubs because of its age so I use the more portable Silent Bass for that.
    Along with the Kay I got a French bow, and I've been trying to figure it out. I've done some research, and the German bow seems interesting. Any pros or cons there?
    I found a method called Essential Elements, but it's really hard to watch. I've looked around locally for an instructor, but they're few and far between around here.
    Can anyone recommend a learning method or decent video so I can begin to get the hang of this thing?
    Also what type of rosin should I be using?
  2. Sekundus

Sekundus

Hallo,
    you can play either french or german bow, it's just a question of aim, the handle is different.
    I study arco with the simandl-method. It's a classical method, that means in the beginning (Band1) you play easy classical etudes in specifical keys and it gets more difficult of you move on.
    In the second part you study excerpts of classical pieces. Good luck.

Greetings
    Ralf
  3. oldfclefer

I don't read music, and I'm an absolute beginner on upright. Bowing and fingering at the same time doesn't seem to come easily for me so far. Any Tips?
  4. Violen

Violen Instructor in the Vance/Rabbath Method Supporting Member

Disclosures: