1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

tube amps vs solid state

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by TheGreatSealof, Apr 2, 2013.

1. TheGreatSealof

TheGreatSealof Supporting Member

I am relatively new to bass, 2 years learning. I have a solid state Ampeg BA115 amp. I goof around with guitar. I had a Fender mustang II amp, 40 watts solid state. It sounded kind of hollow even at high volume. So I purchased a Blackheart little giant amp, 3w to 5w switchable. The sound, tone, and volume blows the mustang out of the water, so to speak.

My question is… will a tube bass head produce the same results for my bass? Louder volume and better tone for less wattage? Again, my Little giant is 3w to 5w but the difference in volume and tone is greater and better sounding than the 40w mustang cranked.
  2. skychief

skychief Gold Supporting Member

Wattage has nothing to do with tone. A tube amp may or may not produce the same results as your Blackheart SS amp.

One thing is for certain tho,, the tube amp will be heavier.
  3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

There is some of that sort of thing going on. But many SS bass amps sound very very good. SS wattage is very cheap, and you don't need 8x SS bass watts to keep up with bass tube watts.
  4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
  5. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

This bit AGAIN eh?