1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Tube suggestions?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by klejst, Jan 24, 2013.

1. klejst

klejst

I just purchased a Peavey T-Max amp off Guitar Center's website. It features a single tube (a 12AX7 I believe) in the tube pre-amp channel. I want to replace that tube so I know it is new and will have a lot of life (unless it is a dud) ahead of it. I read that pre-amp tubes last a long time. Therefore any suggestions to what brand to look into? This is my first time ever buying a tube.

2. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

JJs are nice, but there's a whole world of tubes out there.

Not sure how much of a tonal impact you'll have by changing it, but from a lifetime perspective, I'd just keep what's already there. They really do last a long long time!

3. B-string

B-string Gold Supporting Member

4. zachoff

zachoff

If it's only one pre tube, I'd look for a NOS GE 12AX7. They're pricey, but they're often thought to be the "best" for whatever that's worth. The NOS RCAs are good too.

//edit
    I have Svetlana Winged C powers in my SVT, but still have the original Magnavox pres so I can't speak to the Svetlana 12AX7 but the powers have been good to me for a few years.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. B-string

Just remember NOS means New Old Stock and no guarantee the NOS you buy is really an unused tube. That said, most used/still good old tubes will out-perform new production IME. Mullard, TungSol, Bugle Boy and Telefunken are very good old tubes as well as the standard RCA 7025 (industrial version of a 12AX7).

7. HitByABlimp

HitByABlimp

I like Tung-Sol myself. Open clear tone.

What kind of tone are you looking for exactly? There are a lot of awesome tubes out there, with just different characters.

8. Mr. Foxen

Mr. Foxen

Disclosures: