1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

tube vs solid state direct boxes

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by smcbass, Jan 22, 2014.

1. smcbass

smcbass

I'm a non-professional bassist, meaning that I don't play for money, so I don't have to have the absolute best direct box available. With that in mind, are tube direct boxes so much better than solid state DIs that the differences are readily apparent, or are the differences subtle? I cannot justify spending $350+ on a used Demeter VBTD when a new Radial or Countryman at around $160 gives me nearly everything the tube DI does. I'm currently playing through a TubeWorks 4001 tube direct box, but it's grossly underpowered (30 volts, 600 milliamps).

2. Toolmybass

Toolmybass Supporting Member

Lots of bassists dont use a D.I at all and mic their cabinet to achieve pretty much the exact sound they are used to hearing. What kind of amp are you using?

Also, did someone tell you that you "need" a D.I box?

3. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

Hmm. I'm confused, if you're not playing professionally - why do you even need a DI, where are you playing?

PS: IMHO, the REDDI is the tube DI to get - however, both the Counrtyman 85 and Radial DI's are great boxes too.

4. smcbass

smcbass

I play at a church, and we DI everything. No amps on stage, everything through DIs to the PA.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

7. Toolmybass

Toolmybass Supporting Member

8. smcbass

smcbass

Mr. Louvar,

Is the REDDI worth the difference in price over a Countryman or Radial DI? By that I mean, can you hear a large difference in your sound, or are the differences subtle?

9. JeffLieby

JeffLieby