1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Tube watts vs solid state/hybrid?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by brokenfinger, Sep 20, 2013.

1. brokenfinger

brokenfinger

Hey there,
    I've been playing for 28 years always with solid state/hybrid amps. I've heard that tube amp watts are more powerful, is that true? Very interested in the new Mesa tube amps coming out but concerned that 250 watts may not be enough power. Currently playing through a Mesa M6 Carbine and 2x Mesa 15's.
    I'd be thankful for any input!
  2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

A watt is a watt.
  3. Metalman X

Metalman X

my understanding of it is tube watts seem louder because of the particular harmonics a tuber power section emphasizes, versus a SS power amp. And there is definitely truth to this. I know in terms of guitar amps, my Randall Cyclone and V2 heads are 300watts and 400watts... and each is roughly as loud as an all tube guitar head rated at 100watts (well, the V2 is capable of going a bit louder still... but obviously never needed). And in terms of bass amps, the only SS heads I've ever heard be of roughly the same perceived volume of say, a 300 watt all tube SVT, are usually up around, if not over the 1000 watt range.

There's other issues to consider too. Like, a watt may be a watt, yes... but electrically speaking, I believe tube and SS amps transfer that power 'differently'. Somebody else with more knowledge on that should chime in.