Tuning question

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Recursive, Oct 17, 2013.

1. Recursive

Recursive

I've been playing bass on and off for the last 5-6 years. I have played mostly by feel and by ear, never really dove into learning a whole lot of music theory and in depth terminology. Anyway...

I recently started playing in a band and the guitarist is tuned to A. For me to get that low I have to sacrifice the more tight feel in my strings, not to mention take on a pretty muddy tone, so matching his tuning is pretty much out of the question.

My question is, what would be the best tuning on a 4 string bass to accommodate the low A that our guitarist is currently in?

The last music project I worked on was in a drop Db tuning. So my tuning was still in Db - Ab - Db - Gb (or in sharp terminology C# - G# - C# - F#) and this tuning has been working just okay with A, but I'm just not experienced enough with tuning to know if this turning will acclimate to A the most efficiently.

I like being in the D range because my strings are nice and firm and I feel like Im getting the most out of my tone there.

If anyone has any input on this over thought matter please let me know :D

Thanks!
  2. Thrash3r

Thrash3r

I would just tune to A, use the right strings for A and they wont be floppy or sound muddy, around 140 or 145 for the A string works well in my experience.
  3. NYCbassist

NYCbassist Supporting Member

Yep, It's time for a 5 string tuned down 1 whole step. or mod a 4 string to accept the fattest 4 strings from a 5 string set.
  4. Recursive

Recursive

I have an Ibanez SR-905 which I used in a metal band I was in years and years ago. The lowest I go with that bass before it starts to get muddy and flabby is Bb. That half step down to A causes some issues for the sound Im trying to achieve with this new band.