Tutorial: CAD and CAM for Luthiery

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Beauchene Implements, Feb 1, 2013.

1. Beauchene Implements

Beauchene Implements

The luthier's corner has been good to me. I've learned most everything I know about bass building from y'all, so I feel it's time for me to give back. Here is a tutorial on Computer Aided Design (CAD) and Computer Aided Manufacturing (CAM), with the end goal of CNC machining a bass guitar in mind.

I learned how to make my first bass in 2008 by hanging out in this forum, but I've been designing things in Rhinoceros for fun since 1999; at this point I can get it to do what I need. In 2012 I built a CNC router as a bridge between my CAD hobby and my bass building hobby, and I had to overcome a steep learning curve to put it all together. But at this point I've built 3 complete instruments with CNC assistance, plus a few unassembled bodies and necks.

I was originally going to make a build thread featuring my CNC machine in action, but there are already some great CNC build threads here. So instead I thought I'd demystify the process, show what goes into it before you ever turn on the router.

In this tutorial we will design a bass in a modeling program, then turn the design into gcode files that the CNC machine uses to cut out the parts.

The software that I will be using is Rhinoceros for the 2D and 3D design, CamBam for 2.5D gcode, and MeshCam for 3D gcode. There are hundreds of other programs out there with perhaps better features, but I can get it done with this relatively inexpensive suite.

Below is an outline of steps, and links to videos where I'll work my way through this method. If I do something you have questions about, feel free to ask.I don't intend it to be a full introduction to Rhinoceros; there are hundreds of videos already for that.

Over the next few days I'll update this post with video links, and expand the outline below.