Two 410s placement on stage with 2 guitars

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Toddbass65, Dec 5, 2013.

1. Toddbass65

Toddbass65 Supporting Member

Need some opinions on this please:
    Recently started playing with a hard rock band with 2 guitarists. I have been playing with one guitarist previously, so I usually just stacked my two Carvin 410s on my side of the stage and done.
    Now I'm wondering......
    If I do that now, the guitarist on the other side of the stage says he has a hard time hearing me often. We are working with different soundmen quite a bit, so sometimes my bass monitor gets turned up for him and sometimes not.
    So I was thinking of placing one cabinet on each side of the drum kit so both sides of the stage would benefit from my sound directly. I know lots of people say NEVER split cabs as it hurts your sound, but I am not sure in what way it would hurt me. Anyone have some advice for me being I'm new to this 2 guitarists thing? Thanks for your thoughts on this!
  2. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

I've done/tried it and you may (or may not) like it on stage, but it usually won't cover a room well, so unless you have good sound reinforcement covering the room, I wouldn't recommend it.

EDIT: PS, and with real stage monitoring you'd never need to do that either.
  3. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    Are there not enough monitors to wash the stage with sound? In addition, if you can't be heard, your band's stage volume is way too high! Do you guys use a PA? Personally, I'm not splitting up my rig.
  4. mapleglo

mapleglo Supporting Member

Especially with lower frequencies, having two areas separated by a significant distance that create identical sounds will cause http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comb_filter comb filtering. That will cause areas in the room in which some notes will sound much softer and some notes to sound much louder, and this cannot be fixed with EQ.