1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Two cabs, same speaker, coincidence?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Spent, Feb 18, 2014.

1. Spent

Spent Supporting Member

I've been playing bass for over 25 years, so I like to think I kind of know what I'm doing. I am baffled at this one. Last year I had a speaker tear in my Harke 410XL. I liked the cabinet, it served me well, so I fixed it and bought a Hartke HyDrive 410. Saturday The same exact thing happened to the same exact speaker (location) in the Hydrive. I'm using a SansAmp RBI into a Crown XLS1000. I run the Crown wide open, cause it's an amp, and the SansAmp at about 11:00 with everything flat and no distortion or presence, blend at about 60% or more. I sometimes use my ancient Avatar 212 neo with the same amp. In fact, the Avatar has seen more gig time than both Hartkes combined. We can actually talk above our stage volume, we have a large pa and everything goes through it. I also use a Wampler Ego Compressor and a Micro Thumpinator. We are not a loud band, which actually gets us a lot of gigs, but that's another topic. Thoughts?

2. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

Cue dramatic denouement music.

It sounds like you shouldn't be breaking any speakers.

I blame your EQ, or your 5 string, or your cloth ears, or your guitar player....

3. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

4. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

coincidence, or something entirely outside the playing, like the way you pack the gear in the van or something.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. beans-on-toast

beans-on-toast Supporting Member

Concidence or a design flaw.

I'd call Larry Hartke and tell him what happened. He'd want to discuss this with you. He hasn't logged in here since last November so a PM might not get you an answer.