1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Two Heads One Bass

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by WorldCarver, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. WorldCarver

    WorldCarver

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently got my hands on a couple of Marshall bass heads and want to run them through my rather large rig. My end goal is to run each head through it's own cab, through my Sans Amp, and into my bass... The complication is how.

    I've read into a bit of the pros and cons of using a A/B Y pedal with only one real concern which is dealing with tone fluctuation/changes. However, in my mind it makes more sense to just use a Y cable (skip the pedal/more straight forward) but have found a lack of information on why that's a good or bad idea.

    Tl;dr
    I want to run two bass heads into one bass possibly without a pedal. Can a Y cable handle that on its own?
  2. Mr. Foxen

    Mr. Foxen

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Amp tinkerer at Ampstack
    A y cable alone will halve the impedance on your pickups, which is tone suck. Better getting a buffered split to keep tone, and an isolated buffered split to lose ground loop noise that comes with split rigs. The Sansamp will do the buffering. Plus, if you want same thing going to each amp Might as well plug into one and slave the other one from it, if they have the appropriate connectors.

    I use two different rigs, and have my bass wired with its own output for each pickup, much more tonal variety that way.
  3. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just nit picking but you run your bass into the amp not the other way around. :)

    Run an instrument cable from input 2 of amp 1 to input 1 of amp 2. Run your bass into input 1 of amp 1. Adjust volume of amp 1 to taste and then bring up the volume of amp 2 to match.
  4. 6jase5

    6jase5 Mammogram is down but I'm working manually Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    The right way (to me) is Lehle little dual. Otherwise you aren't getting the best straight bass path from guitar to each amp. Use one or the other or both with no loss. I use them for guitar and once did a two amp bass set up....one clean one with effects.
  5. chaosMK

    chaosMK

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    Are you planning on using different tones on the heads? If you just want one masive tone maybe you can run a line out from your primary head into the FX return of the secondary one (utilizing its power section directly).

    For running two amps with different tones (sometimes for fun I'll do this... one rig clean, the other OD) I think what you want is a good quality Y box or another type of pedal which can serve as a Y. A cheap A/B/Y box into two amps can cause a feedback effect... not sure exactly why (maybe "loose ground loop" that Fox mentioned), but it's a common symptom.
  6. WorldCarver

    WorldCarver

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically bridge the heads and run the remaining two to the cabs?
  7. MagicMan_841

    MagicMan_841

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. zon6c-f

    zon6c-f

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regardless, I recommend using an a-b-y box..very versatile.

    With a b y , you can also reverse it and use 2 different basses into one head..switch basses with click of a switch.

    Haven't used mine in a while, but I believe you can KILL everything and use the A B Y as a MUTE box as well??..

Share This Page