Two of my knobs are flaky

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Llaslo, Jan 15, 2013.

1. Llaslo

Llaslo

Hello, I'm fairly new to the bass world and just learning, but I've a Schecter Stiletto Custom-4. It has the Emg Hz passive pickups. Two of the knobs are very flaky on it, and I've heard lots of negative comments on those pickups. I'm looking to replace the electronics on it with something that will be better. Any advice would be great. Mostly playing classic rock and some metal.

2. llldino

llldino

When you say knob, do you mean the actual plastic piece, the potentiometer, or the sound of turning them? And what do you mean by "flaky"?

3. Llaslo

Llaslo

the four potentiometers. What i mean by flaky is that they cut in and out as you turn them and sometimes create tons of static when adjusting them.

4. Cadfael

Cadfael

Okay ... :smug:

1. Don't give too much about what other people say/write ... :D
    2. Good pots (CTS etc.) cost a few dollars ...
    3. Have you tried several afjustment tries?
    4. Are you sure you have the right strings?
    5. Humans tease others when they are unsatisfied with themselves - and basses can't defend. Grass is always greener on the other side ...

Before you change the PUs, change the pots. Ask yourself what YOU don't like on the sound. Is it because of the bass, the PUs or are you the problem?

I think most people are only satisfied with new PUs because they are new (and give new motivation).

After all this ...
    Best wishes!
    Andreas

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. llldino

llldino

Jeez, that's no good. I'm not sure what the quality of Schecter is like, try opening her up and looking at the connections. It sounds like there might be a couple of bad grounds or something.

7. Llaslo

Llaslo