1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Two preamps.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Bowe100, Jan 21, 2014.


  1. Bowe100

    Bowe100

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    I've been thinking of ways of improving my sound, and I'm wondering if there's any issues I've failed to think of with what I have in mind.

    at the moment im using a GK 1001rb head, and love the sound, but I also use quite a few effects, distortion, overdrive, phaser, flanger, chorus etc, and I'm always worried about the low end going missing while using them.

    so I was thinking of picking up another preamp and some sort of splitter/blender, and splitting the signal into two chains, one all the effects and the GK preamp set for all the articulation, and other just into the other preamp just set to provide the lows, then mix the two signals again into the GK power section.

    anyone done similar things or am I just not seeing why it wouldn't work?
     
  2. NeonVomit

    NeonVomit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Location:
    London, UK
    I guess it depends on the effects you're using - do they have a 'blend' feature?

    If not, a signal splitter loop might do the trick.
     
  3. vbchaos

    vbchaos

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    I do this
    I have my main sound from the bass and a WahWah into the ART PC II. In parallel I have a couple of effects like bass-balls, fuzz, octaver, auto-wah.
    In the picture you see a 1unit rack mixer. The main channel from the ART pre-amp is going into this, and the effects channel is goiing into a second channel of the mixer. The output is sent to the power-amp.
    Works like a charm - I especially dig the combination of the dry sound with a bit of the bass balls.
    The channel mixer/splitter also provides direct outputs so the FOH can plug into that directly. I haven't quite figured out if that's the most charming way to go but it saves me a two-channel DI for now.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Chapbass

    Chapbass

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Bluhhhhh you have pretty much the exact rig im going for....I'm just....almost everything short :D
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bowe100

    Bowe100

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    what are you using to split the signal?
     
  7. vbchaos

    vbchaos

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    BigMuff has a dry and an effect output which make it a splitter in some sort of way
     
  8. MSGNoff

    MSGNoff 1SG Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    Oregon
    VB,

    This is a continuation of sort from the Greenboy forum.......not certain I understand how to get the blended signal back to my cabinet used basically as a stage monitor? Hope this makes sense.

    Meaning; bass - Bigshot ABY switcher - one signal to a Sansamp Paradriver then to the bass amp, bass amp DI to board. The other (dry) signal straight from the ABY to the board. Bottom line, 2 parallel signals to FOH.

    Now, how to get that blended signal to my cabinet (hopefully a 12/6 very soon)? Furthermore, how do I control the volume of the blended signal out of the cabinet on stage?

    Obviously I'm a little confused.
     
  9. Jeff Scott

    Jeff Scott Don't just TalkBASS - PlayBASS! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    NEOhio - lightweight but extremely powerful!
    I do a similar thing to split my signal but I use a MicroPOG to do that. The dry out of the MPOG goes to a tc electronic MOJOMOJO, then the effects outs of the MPOG and MOJOMOJO go to a ProD2 DI and out to wherever it needs to go (lately, a Marantz PMD661).
     
  10. vbchaos

    vbchaos

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    You have a one channel amp, I guess. So in one or another way you have to combine/mix both signals into one signal and feed that into your amp.
    I use a behringer ultralink for that, but you have blend pedals as well that can adjust the signal input and output gain.
    If you remain confused, keep asking ;-)
     
  11. disssa

    disssa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Germany

Share This Page