Typo on New Ashdown Heads?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by knappymer, Mar 29, 2014.


  1. knappymer

    knappymer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Phoenixville, Pa
    Has anyone noticed that the one treble knob on the new Rootmaster heads from Ashdown say 1K5Hz? Shouldn't they say 1.5KHz?

    Just a thought. This first caught my eye in the May edition of Bassplayer as they have a close-up add on the middle of the issue.

    I also checked out the website and it appears that way in those photos too
     
  2. Silver Blues

    Silver Blues

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Atlantic Canada
    It's not a typo, just a different notation that they use in Europe sometimes. They do it in electrical schematics as well, what it is is the unit replaces the decimal point - for example, a resistance value of 1.5K would become simply 1K5, or a capacitance value of 8.2nF becomes simply 8n2. (The ohms or farads is understood.) So, in your case, 1.5KHz becomes 1K5 Hz.
     
  3. DannyBob

    DannyBob

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    UK
    Ashdown is from the UK right? I'm from the UK and never heard of this notation type ever?...
     
  4. beans-on-toast

    beans-on-toast Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7,340
    1k5 = 1,5K = 1,5k = 1.5k = 1.5K all equivalent. It's the new math. Ask a kid.

    1K5 is easier for people with seeing problems. Also takes up less space with one less character.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Silver Blues

    Silver Blues

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Atlantic Canada
    They are, yes. I see it all the time on schematics and electrical/electronic things (about the only place I've seen it) and I use it regularly in schematics I've made, I'm not even in Europe. I guess if you don't do much work in that area then you may not see it as much?
     
  7. seamonkey

    seamonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    8,870
    It's easier to print and read on tiny SMT resistors.
     
  8. knappymer

    knappymer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Phoenixville, Pa
    Ah, very nice. Thank you for clearing that up. Now if I could just get my hands on one...
     
  9. AlexanderB

    AlexanderB

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    Sweden
    BTW, it is not a capital "K", since that means "Kelvin", for temperature.
    "Kilo" is abbreviated "k".
     
  10. Silver Blues

    Silver Blues

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Atlantic Canada
    Truth. haha
     
  11. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,856
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Good grief! It's been in regular use for at least 30 years.
     
  12. chienmort

    chienmort

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    At least 30 probably 40
     
  13. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,856
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    I didn't want to show my ancientness!! :D
     

Share This Page