1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Upgrade time - Fender American Std P Bass or Yamaha BB1024

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by osmeier, Mar 4, 2014.

1. osmeier

osmeier

I've been playing a mate of mine's bass for the past 6 months and the time has come for me to get my own.

I'm in a toss up between these two:
    http://shop.musix.ch/de/Yamaha-BB1024-TBS-Tobacco-Brown-Sunburst.html

Or
    http://shop.musix.ch/de/Fender-American-Standard-Precision-Bass-RW-3-Tone-Sunburst.html

The truth is there's a heavy relic cs that I simply can't justify paying the price for yet, but I want that deep p-bass rumble so for the next 2-5 years it's one of the above.

Anyone owned Yamaha and a fender, who can provide some input?

Cheers.

2. Apolicious

Apolicious

There's a shop near here that has that Yamaha. I've played it a few times and it's quite nice, but it's a little too "clean" sounding for me, if you catch my drift. It doesn't quite have the cahones of your typical fender.

That being said, 2-5 years is a long time to stick with a single-pickup instrument.

3. Lichtaffen

Lichtaffen Supporting Member

Media:
    I'll put in a vote for the Fender. The new ones since 2008 are super nice. Good luck.

4. Gbass75

Gbass75 Supporting Member

If you want to sound like a P-Bass... well...

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. christle

christle Supporting Member

This

7. osmeier

osmeier

Thanks guys. Exactly the type of advice I wanted to hear.
    Fender standard it is. If you would've said that the p bass tone and the fender growl was easily reproduced by the Yamaha, it would've been a different story.

I say wait for 2 - 5 years because I need to put the scratch together for this beauty

http://www.fender.com/en-CH/basses/precision-bass/1964-heavy-relic-precision-bass/