Upgrading a Jazz Bass....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by charley, Apr 2, 2014.

1. charley

charley

Hi all,

I'm going to be getting a 5 string Jazz Bass in the coming days....most likely an American Standard V or Am Deluxe V.

I want to really just max it out....

The first step is new hardware....electronics to come later....

What are, hands down, the very best tuners and bridge on the market? Price is not an issue. I'm not totally sold that I need to change any hardware, but just wondering what's out there?

I've been a guitarist for 20 years, and know the ins and outs of guitars......but not basses!!!!!
  2. Goldmember

Goldmember

If price is not an issue, I suggest you go the Fender Custom Shop route. This would be wiser than buying such a fine instrument as one of the two you listed, then switching out parts. Have it built to your specs from the start. Of course, if time is an issue, than disregard the above advice. :)
  3. tedsalt

tedsalt Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    These aren't Squiers. Upon review of the American Standard or American Deluxe, it looks like the hardware is pretty good. Unless you're looking for lightweight, in which case you might consider Gotoh Res-O-Lite tuners.
  4. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh

The tuners on the American Deluxe are just fine. I believe they are Hipshot. The bridge isn't bad either. If I was going to do anything, I might be tempted to swap out the bridge for one of the new model Babicz's that use the 3 screw pattern and string through of the new Fender bridges.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. neckdive

neckdive

I second the Gotoh lite tuners. About half the weight if instrument balance is an issue. No difference in sound or performance though.

I also highly recommend David Allen pickups.