1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Used Rickenbacker 4003, What To Look For?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Pentatonic, Jan 8, 2014.

1. Pentatonic

Pentatonic

Hi Everyone,

I've been lurking here for a few weeks but this is my first post.

I started playing bass when I was 12 or 13. Gave it up in my early 20s. I'm 50 now and recently started playing again. Picked up a Rogue violin bass 2 months ago, put LaBella flats on it and have been thumping right along. I also have a 2000ish MIM Sunburst P bass. Pix to follow.

Ever since I knew what a Rickenbacker bass was I wanted one. Someone is selling a 2013 Midnight Blue locally at a good price. Not my first color choice but I am going to check it out today. Having never purchased a used instrument before, any suggestions on what to look for generally and in particular for a 4003 bass?

Thanks in advance.
  2. IntrepidCellist

IntrepidCellist Supporting Member

Beyond the typical things to look for with buying a used instrument, off the top of my head:

1.) Make sure both truss rods work and are not broken. They're tougher than the 4001 truss rods, but I've seen people try to pass off 4003s with a broken rod (which is a pain to fix).
    2.) Check for excessive "tail lift", where the back end of the bridge where the strings anchor starts to pull away from the face of the instrument. A little is okay, but a lot can affect the break angle on the bridge and may have a negative effect on the sound.