1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

using a 2x10 cab as only cab?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by I_LIEK_BASE, Feb 14, 2013.

1. I_LIEK_BASE

I_LIEK_BASE

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to the TB (this is my first post, so bear with me). I'm interested in getting a 2x10 cabinet to go with my 300 watt Behringer head. I am looking for a lighter-weight alternative to my 1x15 for gigs and practices (I'm in several bands that each have their own practice space) and I was hoping a 2x10 would do the trick, but every set-up I see with a 2x10 is using it on top of a 1x15 or 18.
    My question is, generally, can a 2x10 push enough air on its own to fill a medium-sized room? Am I gonna get an even distribution of high and low end without a bigger speaker below? What are some suggestions, brand-wise, for 2x10's?
    Thanks.

2. waynobass

waynobass Supporting Member

An Acme 2x10 is all I've ever needed. (Going into the P.A. direct through the head, usually.)

3. jumblemind

jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

A 2x10 that will have enough bottom end will not be saving you any weight over your 1x15. The cab enclosure will be big, and you'll have two magnets instead of one, all contributing to weight. IMO if you want lighter weight only, look into a neo 15 speaker.

4. rogypop

rogypop

For the price of a quality 210 you should really consider buying/building yourself a fearful 12/6. The lightest and reasonably small single cab solution which will blow out of the water most 210 or 115 i can think of.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. cavedweller

cavedweller

I run a lmiii through a carvin brx210 and honestly,it handles about any venue I play. I have another matching cab and use it occasionally for big stages or outdoor stuff, but not often.

7. Leadfoot

Leadfoot