1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Using a Capo for bass set-up.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by dadday07, Jan 30, 2014.

1. dadday07

dadday07

I am new to setting up my own bass and have read and watched numerous instructional literature and videos. In doing so, I have found that some suggest using a capo on the first fret and others don't mention it at all. Should I use a capo or not and if so, what type/brand of capo would do the trick on a 5 string bass?

2. bigswifty1

bigswifty1

Use a capo. Any one that's made for electric (the acoustic ones sometimes don't press tight enough) should be fine

Mike

3. sbass traveller

sbass traveller

Go for it, although in the 5 books on guitar building I own I haven't once heard of using a capo for the building or setup portion. If you have a good resource that suggests it, go with it. You can always re-set-up your instrument. If I may suggest, any book by Dan Erlewine ("How to make your Electric Guitar Play Great") is an excellent starter point, guitar, bass or whatever.

4. Wolffgang

Wolffgang

Yeah gotta have a capo, I couldn't do a proper truss road adjustment without one. I love my Schubb for it, does 5-strings and even 6-strings just fine. Well, with a particularly wide-spaced 6 you might get one string hanging off, but all the ones I've adjusted have been dual-truss anyway.

Edit: You said you've already done your homework, but I'll share this here anyway, my favourite video series about setups

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. f.c.geil

f.c.geil I'm your huckleberry... Supporting Member

Media:
    A capo is pretty mandatory for a good setup, especially on Fenders. Any capo for electric should be fine since you generally only need it to hold your E (or B) string.

7. espace

espace