Using a head that has a higher wattage than the cab

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by bass_thefish, Jan 12, 2013.

1. bass_thefish

bass_thefish

I have a vintage hiwatt 2x15 that has the original fane speakers in it. The cab is only rated for 100w at 8 ohms.

I was just wondering if it would be bad if I used say a 400w head. I don't want to blow the speakers out of my cab but I would like more power than the 100w head I'm using. The guitar player in my band seems to think it should be fine but I'm hesitant to trust him since I've had some bad experiences already with some speakers through my pa system.

Any info on the subject is appreciated!

2. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    This is why you have a volume knob. If the cab sounds like you are pushing it too hard, then you are.

3. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Won't get any louder, but will be more likely to blow the cab if you are not very careful in your volume knob useage.

4. valencia0919

valencia0919 Supporting Member

The power ratings on cabs are ignorable, I would say. You really need to hear it out yourself. If you go pass certain level of gain, it might start farting, which is not good for your cab. There should be a plenty of threads about this problem. Use search function!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

Using a 400W amp with a cabinet rated at 100W is a recipe for disaster. You will inevitably blow the drivers.

7. Thomas Kievit

Thomas Kievit Thou shall not F*** up the groove Supporting Member

I was thinking the same. The best for him would be a different amp that can handle a higher wattage.

8. Bassman62

Bassman62

Who would dream of expecting an ancient speaker to live up to todays requirements, speakers of today are totaly different to those we used in days gone by.

9. rockman1

rockman1