Using a powered bin with a powered desk

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by I-Love-Ratm, Mar 1, 2014.


  1. I-Love-Ratm

    I-Love-Ratm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,078
    Quick question guys. I've got a gig tonight and I'm using a borrowed PA as mine is getting some work done. It's a powered desk with passive speakers. I'm wondering is there a way I can incorporate my powered bass bin in there??

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Dave Curran

    Dave Curran Lilduke Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    NEPA
    Use an aux send and put in it only the kick and bass.
     
  3. I-Love-Ratm

    I-Love-Ratm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,078
    The desk I'm getting is basic and doesn't have aux sends! I just noticed though that as well as the speakon outputs it has unbalanced "main out" jacks. Can I run these as well as the speakons I wonder?
     
  4. Geri O

    Geri O

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Florence, MS
    MAKE SURE that those "Main Out" jacks are line-level, NOT simply 1/4" jacks that are paralleled with the Speakon outputs. If it isn't clearly marked on the panel, you should be able to look up the mixer's website (okay, the mixer's manufacturer's website) and find out that info. Are those jacks marked as "unbalanced"?

    If you can post the make and model of the mixer, I can look it up for you...
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Dave Curran

    Dave Curran Lilduke Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    NEPA
    If the main out is a line out, and NOT POWERED SPEAKER out you can plug it into the sub. Does the sub have it's own built in low pass crossover? (if powered I would say probably).
     
  7. I-Love-Ratm

    I-Love-Ratm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,078
    It's the Yamaha EMX512 I think? Thanks for the help guys. Yeah the bin has a built in crossover.
     
  8. Dave Curran

    Dave Curran Lilduke Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    NEPA
    It has one aux send. It is labeled as a monitor send. If your not using monitors, you can use that to the powered sub. That will allow you to use the monitor volume control for the sub separately. If you are using monitors, you can use the main L line output on the front of the head to the sub. Both are balanced.

    Remember, if your using the monitor send for the sub, turn up the monitor send on the channels you want to go to the sub. Bass, kick, maybe toms. Keyboard too.
     
  9. I-Love-Ratm

    I-Love-Ratm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,078
    No the monitor send will already be taken. It's ok to use the main out on the front then?
     
  10. I-Love-Ratm

    I-Love-Ratm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,078
    On the manual it says

    "These unbalanced phone output jacks feed out the main
    stereo output. You would typically connect these jacks to
    a power amp or powered speakers. The signal sent to
    these jacks is adjusted by the MAIN section’s MASTER
    knob G and graphic equalizer "
     
  11. AaronBass4

    AaronBass4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO area
    Yes. It should work. You won't have independent control of your sub, however. Maybe that's OK.
     
  12. I-Love-Ratm

    I-Love-Ratm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,078
    The sub itself has a volume control so it shouldn't be too bad. Thanks for the help guys.
     
  13. Geri O

    Geri O

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Florence, MS
    You are good to go!
     

Share This Page