1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Using a Y cable with the Bass

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by waytoodeep03, Oct 15, 2005.

  1. waytoodeep03

    waytoodeep03

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could I use a Y-cord connected to my bass to split two different amplifiers (one would be a behringer head to an avatar 2. would be a peavey kb 300 keyboard amp)

    I really want to get the most out of that 15" keyboard amp that is just sitting around the house
  2. chaosMK

    chaosMK

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    Go for it, that would work.
  3. waytoodeep03

    waytoodeep03

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    would there be any signal loss do you think?
  4. Mudbass

    Mudbass

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as both amps are in phase with each other I don't see why not.
  5. waytoodeep03

    waytoodeep03

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    what does in phase mean? i dont want to blow anything up
  6. bobyoung53

    bobyoung53

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could be some loss of volume as there may be an impedance mismatch, the old way was to run a cord from another input in the same channel to the other amp which is easier and only needs another cord, they will be in phase. Out of phase means one signal is 180 degrees out from the other, they cancel each out out, but if the source is in phase as it would be in this case you should have no problems. The most common example of out of phase is when you hook one speaker up backwards eg: neg. to pos, pos to neg. with a stereo or something like that, two speakers in the same cab etc.
  7. chaosMK

    chaosMK

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    Is there much difference if you use a Y-cable as opposed to an ABY box? I originally thought he was going to go through an ABY.
  8. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    13
    Go for it, you'll be fine.

    Don't worry about the phase thing on a mechanical/electronic level.

    What phase refers to is that if the amps put out sound waves where the waves from each amp aren't synching up properly, they can cancel each other out, meaning less volume, but no damage will happen to your gear.

    I use a Y-cable into both channels of my amp when playing sometimes.
  9. Munjibunga

    Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Likes Received:
    32
    Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    You can use a Y-cable without too much danger, but you're better off using an ABY box for better impedance matching.
  10. screamingdaisy

    screamingdaisy Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0

    Most A/B-Y boxes that I've come across are just fancy Y connectors that can be bypassed.....
  11. Bob Lee (QSC)

    Bob Lee (QSC) In case you missed it, I work for QSC Audio! Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Likes Received:
    10
    Disclosures:
    Applications Engineer, QSC Audio
    Because of the buffered output that most active basses have, they generally won't suffer any degradation of performance when Y-cabled into two amp inputs. Passive basses, OTOH, have a significant output impedance and could lose signal or some high end when you do that. It might still sound okay to you, though.
  12. BurningSkies

    BurningSkies

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Likes Received:
    13

    I'm a reggae player.

    Any high end loss is just an additional bonus. ;)
  13. RichardLEntrup

    RichardLEntrup

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    So in the simplest of terms, you just use a Y cable with the bass into 2 amps and you'll be fine? Because I bought one of those gold splitters from RadioShack to try and use on 2 mini-amps for some loud Marching Band bass player bleacher tunes :bassist:. But when I tried plugging in 1 cable from the bass to the splitter input and 2 cables from the outputs to the 2 amps, one of the amps just overpowered the other.
  14. Forrrest

    Forrrest

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    you probably have a volume control on both amps, use them accordingly
  15. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Likes Received:
    9
    There are severe impedance issues when using a simple Y to connect to 2 amps.
    Most heads offer more reliable ways to achieve this. Typically, you can use the tuner output of one amp toward the input of 2nd amp.
  16. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Likes Received:
    2
    Zombie Resurrection
  17. Baird6869

    Baird6869 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    8 years! Nice one.
  18. RichardLEntrup

    RichardLEntrup

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    It turns out my DigiTech BP90 had 2 outputs on it's side, all I had to do was turn the switch to Amp, thanks anyway ;)

Share This Page