Using an amp on loan, buddy wants it back. Want to buy starter bass amp. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by DandersonCooper, Nov 27, 2012.

1. DandersonCooper

DandersonCooper

Hey TBers,

I started playing bass no more than a few months ago (with a half year experience of playing in a band prior). Ive been practicing on my buddy's fender rumble practice amp up until now.

Being amp-less and all, I want to invest in a new practice amp for myself.

I'm not playing in a band, just some home recording and jamming with buddies.

I'm been really looking in to the TC Electronic BG250.
    I'm heading over to my local guitar store to test it out. I suppose, I sound play a variety of them as well.

If anyone has a unused amp they are willing to sell, I'd might consider buying off TB as well.

I'm sure you guys can suggest this newbie some great starter amps!

My budget is 300-400$ max.

Thanks!!
  2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

The classifieds are at the bottom of the main page. Otherwise, what you're doing, is how you do it. Go out and play everything available to you, and buy what you like. With bass, bigger is always better, so stay away from the tiny practice combo's.
  3. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

You should be able to find something nice in that price range if you buy new or used ask about the stores return policy and are they a authorized repair facility for your amp just because they sell it doesn't mean they will service it and you don't want to be stuck sending a combo amp somewhere for repairs. good luck and keep us updated.
  4. droppedurpocket

droppedurpocket

Try everything out. Searching classifieds is what I should have done, but I didn't know about TB then. I bought new and went with a GK MB115 and it does me very well for home practice. It will get loud enough to be heard over drums and my buddy's Marshall half stack. 4 band EQ and a direct out for recording. :cool: