Using two preamps to run two cabs

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by BassLift, Jul 19, 2012.

1. BassLift

BassLift

Let's say i'm using a Genz benz head to power one cab and a separate power amp to fuel a second cab. If i wanted to run the bottom cab for more low-mid and the top cab for mid-high range, how do i go about getting my signal to split? if I were using a pedal-preamp, what would be the best course of action to take?

2. Hactar

Hactar

What cabs are you using? If the cabs are the same, you may not be improving things much.

To split your signal at a frequency, you need a crossover, or an amp that provides such a thing.

3. BassLift

BassLift

I wouldn't want to split the signal at frequency, just use a second preamp/eq, independent of the first one so i could dial in one for better mid-highs and the other for low-mids. Maybe this is unconventional if not completely impractical, but i'm an unconventional bassist, and come up with strange ideas.

4. EricssonB

EricssonB

Strange ideas sure do seem to bubble up from Boulder. :cool:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Primakurtz

Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

I used to use 2 preamps, one into each channel of a stereo power amp, into 2 cabs. Worked great!

7. BassLift

BassLift

...tell me about it. I live my life bouncing on the tightrope that separates genius from insanity.

8. BassLift

BassLift

what was your setup like? how did you get the signal from your bass to 2 preamps?

9. Hactar

Hactar

Dude, story of my life..
    Lots of Boulder people in this thread :)

EDIT: NVM, I think I have a better idea of what you're trying to do.
    And really, it's not that unusual.

10. Hactar

Hactar

What kind of preamp are you using?

One signal chain you could use would be:
    Bass in to GBE1200. GBE1200 to cab 1.
    Tuner out from GBE to second preamp.
    Second preamp to power amp, then to cab 2.

11. BassLift

BassLift