V4B EQ Settings

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by jbd5015, Mar 18, 2014.

1. jbd5015

jbd5015 Cool cars & Bass guitars Supporting Member

Wondering how you guys EQ your V4Bs? It had been a while since i played mine, and i was quite unhappy with the tone i was getting where i had previously left it...relatively flat.

Im comparing it to the B15 ive been playing for the past 4 months. I run that fairly similar to how Jamerson ran his. I dont dime the bass, but run it fairly high, but i also bump the treble up just a smidge and run the volume just past where it starts to break up.

this creates a great tone for me to pluck or pick with. ive actually grown in technique with this amp, its helped me tremendously with studio recording too. Its a very similar response to going direct into a great preamp (API) and using studio monitors.

Now, i went to try and get close to that on the V4B, and i found that i was boosting the bass a good bit, treble just a smidge, but i had to cut most of the 'low mids' out. Running it flat gave me this very middy tone that explains a lot of issues our band had with regards to stage tone!! OOPS!! Its very nasally without being clear...strange! Sounded good with a pick, but not so great while plucking!

This thread is about finding some neat tones with the V4B and how you guys set your amps!

Im playin a '74 through a B40 cab loaded with Bag End 10's to create a 2 ohm 4x10 that can handle some serious lows.

cheers!!
  2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    In that case, I doubt my settings will help you since I use it with either an 810 or a couple 210av's, and they have different settings. But I also have a B-15 (64), and I can get similar sounds out of either. The thing to do is to sit with both of them together and try to match tones.
  3. jbd5015