1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Victor Wooten Solo

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Deoindra123, Jan 25, 2013.

1. Deoindra123

Deoindra123

Video:

I'm sure lots of Wooten fans have seen this video but I was just wondering how does one learn to bass solo like that? I've been playing bass for a few years and just have begun to start practicing soloing but whenever I try to play over a backing track it just doesnt sound or feel right! Any suggestions?:confused:

2. Rebop

Rebop

Practice everything you can get your hands on.
    When I was coming up, I would buy all sorts of books such as flute solos, oboe studies, the Charlie Parker omnibook, etc (I still do this; my favorite will always be Charlie Parker).
    The most important thing for me was to pull from as many sources as possible.
    Not just bass players. To be honest, I've learned more about soloing and [solo] harmony from horn players and piano players than bassists (learning how to construct basslines is a different story).
    Scales and arpeggios are important but shouldn't be all you practice. They'll help you be able to play anything you can hear in your head eventually as you will start to know where all the notes are without thinking about it too much.

3. Deoindra123

Deoindra123

Thanks really helped me a lot and I agree I think I'm the same way too, I learn more about soloing from different musicians who play different instruments than just bass players!

4. Coltrane21

Coltrane21

I suggest transcription. Write down what you hear, one bar at a time (and each bar can take a while). Once you've gotten the notes, find out why he is playing them.

Rebop gives very good advice. Absorb every source you can.