vintage JB pickups low output

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by damos, Dec 2, 2012.

1. damos

damos

Hello

i have a very low output with my pickups on my 67 Jazz bass.
    Is it normal or i must rewind the pickups ?
    I have a lot of low-mid compared to my 72 JB ?

Thanks

2. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned

Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    It sounds like the coils have developed an internal short.

3. bassclef112

bassclef112 Supporting Member

I think David addressed your issue directly.

Having said that, my 66 Jazz has a dramatically lower output - I'd say it's only about 60%-70% of newer pickups. However, there is no affect to the frequency response - they are full range.

As to the reduced output on my bass: It may be due to the magnets getting old and having reduced strength - I'm not an expert. I can only say that I believe this drop in output is at least partially responsible for the amazing tone I get from this bass. I have 5 other Jazz basses (all sound excellent) but none sound like the little slice of heaven that comes out of this one. I've only ever got compliments on the tone.

4. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned

Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    Magnets shouldn't get weaker, but if they do, it's not hard to charge them back up again.

If the output is just lower, but it sounds fine, it might still be a break in the coil.

I just rewound a set from '76 that had that issue. The neck pickup sounded fine, but you could not get a reading on it on a meter. Sometimes they can sound very thin. It depends on where the break is in the coil.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassclef112

bassclef112 Supporting Member