Vintage modified jaguar bass (squire)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bassistcali, Feb 9, 2014.

1. Bassistcali

Bassistcali

Hi, I'm new to this so I have a questions that been bothering me for years that I can't figure out. My first bass was a vintage modified jaguar bass (full-scale squire). The knobs don't make sense. The volume is in the middle and the other ones I can't figure out what they are. I looked everywhere and can't figure it out.

2. INTP

INTP

Mine has two "stacked" knobs. For each nob, the inner one is the volume, and the outer one is the tone. The knob closest to the bridge controls the bridge pickup, and the knob closest to the neck controls the neck pickup.

One confusing thing is that if both pickups are turned up, the cutting the tone on either of the pickups will cut the highs, affecting overall tone.

3. JSweetman

JSweetman

How many knobs (pots) do you have? The Jaguar VM Special has 4, one of which is smaller than the others. As the other reply says, there's another model with two stacked knobs.

On the Special with 4 knobs, the top two (closest to the neck) control the level/volume for the two pickups. The third adds extra bass, and the smaller knob adds some treble.

If you know what model you have, you can search the Squier site and the knob placement is included on the specs page.

4. okcrum

okcrum in your chest

Media:
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Dark Horse strings
    :eyebrow: Was? :D

Yeah, the Squier site should have a manual. My recent VM Jag HB was V-B-M-T. So the tone control is 3 way on the single pickup.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bassistcali

Bassistcali

Sorry guys im lost
    http://m.guitarcenter.com/Squier-Vi...ric-Bass-Guitar-Special-106505464-i1788090.gc this is what I have

7. Maxdusty

Maxdusty Supporting Member

That's the Squier VM Jaguar Special. It's an active bass.
    knobs are, if you have it strapped on and looking down.
    Left knob -Volume 1. (Middle Pickup)