Voodo Labs ISO 5 enough for my needs?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ustabawannab, Jan 27, 2014.


  1. ustabawannab

    ustabawannab Caesar's palace, morning glory, silly human race. Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI.
    I may have backed myself into a corner here.

    I have two Digitech iStomps, a Tech21 BDDI, a MXR-M87, a TC Polytune and a Line 6 G50 Relay Receiver on my Pedaltrain Jr. I purchased and mounted the ISO 5 before I bought the MXR.

    Currently I have the G50 on the 300 mA 9V outlet with three 100mA 9V outlets left for everything else. The Polytune has an in/out receptacle on it so I connected it to one of the 100mA receptacles then out to the MXR. I bought a Y plug and split the second remaining receptacle between the two iStomps. The remaining receptacle powers the BDDI.

    That didn't work.

    The iStomps just fast/flashed and never came up. So, instead I connected each iStomp to its own 100 mA receptacle and split the output from the polytune between the BDDI amd the MXR-M87. Everything works fine so far but I'm concerned that I'm not providing a enough headroom to the compressor and DI. According to the specs in their owners manuals, the BDDI wants 100 mA but only draws 6 mA. The MXR draws 18 mA with LEDs lit.

    Am I risking reduced headroom by powering both pedals on 100 mA or is it time to upgrade the Vooo Labs ISO 5 to something else? I wish I could use the ISO's available 18V receptacle but am worried about overvolatage into any of the pedals.
  2. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    White Plains
    Do you notice that you have less headroom?

    I'd say it's time for a PP2+ or another psu of choice...
  3. sunbeast

    sunbeast Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'd be more worried about the 3 digital units needing higher amperage than the BDDI or compressor which should both be fine. I think all 3 of the digital pedals might be near the minimum of their needs in your current setup.
  4. ustabawannab

    ustabawannab Caesar's palace, morning glory, silly human race. Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Location:
    Greenfield, WI.
    Technically the iStomps want 150mA and I'm only giving them 100. The G50 transmitter is getting 300 mA, which it wants so I'm OK there. If I go with the PP+ I'm going to under power the G50 and still not provide enough for both iStomps.

    I think what I'm going to do is split the 300 mA receptacle between the iStomps and use the 3 remaining 100 mA outlets between the BDDI, Polytune and MXR. I can add one more pedal off the Polytune in the future. As for the G50, back to the wall wart :bawl::
  5. sunbeast

    sunbeast Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Sounds like a good plan to me- if you want to look into other power supplies I believe the CIOKs Big John will cover your needs perfectly. I use their AC-10 supply on my board and love it.
  6. Ricky Caboverde

    Ricky Caboverde Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Why not power the BDDI with phantom power? BDDI on phantom power -- G50 on the 300ma -- iStomps on their own 100ma -- Tuner->MXR comp on last 100ma outlet

    As a side note...+1 for Cioks Big John ;) ...not playing Devil's advocate or anything.

Share This Page