Vox Amplug or irig/amplitube for mobile practice?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Balog, Sep 21, 2012.

1. Balog

Balog Supporting Member

So I spend about 2-3 hours a day sitting on a bus, and at the moment I spend that time either sleeping or arguing with people on the internet. So in an effort to be more productive, I'm buying a short scale bass and looking at ways to practice sans outlets.

So far the two products I see get the most mention are the Vox Amplug and the irig/amplitube/iphone combo. Either will let me play along with songs while sitting on the bus. Both are around the same price.

So does one offer a significant advantage over the other? Any other options I should explore?
  2. BBQV

BBQV

I've used the Amplug for a couple of years and I like it a lot! The only downside is some hiss when the batteries run low. If the output jack is on the side of your bass the Amplug might get in the way when you sit down and play.

I have no experience with the iRig.
  3. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye

I have an Amplug. I like it a lot.
  4. waterboy

waterboy

I've been using my AmPlug for about a year now and I've got zero complaints.

I haven't used the iRig(no iPhone/Pad), but the ability to screw around with effects and record could be fun.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Rip Topaz

Rip Topaz

Disclosures:
    Beta tester for Positive Grid
    Irig, but be sure to download AmpKit. Or even PocketGK. They just sound better than Amplitube.
  7. Duke21

Duke21

Disclosures:
    Positive Grid Beta tester
    iRig and any of the apps for iOS is MUCH better then the Vox Amplug.
  8. Duke21

Duke21

Disclosures:
    Well, I find Amplitube best after they gave out the B15. But both Ampkit and the GK apps rocks.
  9. blueacid4l

blueacid4l