VT bass or Ampeg?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Pills Are Yummy, Dec 18, 2012.

1. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

I have this VT Bass, and it really kicks ass in terms of getting a good SVT tone....my question is, is it really worth getting the real thing?

I've been GAS'ing HARD for an SVT-CL, but I'm wondering if I should just shell out the money for a Spector instead.

I'm a metal bassist (Thrashcore/new metal) and I play with an 87 Charvel and an Ampeg SVT 450H + VT Bass
  2. rodl2005

rodl2005

It's worth it! If ur young/can handle the weight- the VT does a good job, but it doesn't give u the feel of 300w of all tube goodness.
  3. gidbass

gidbass Supporting Member

Paging JimmyM....;)
  4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    What? I gotta tell you?

:D

I'm a big fan of the VT and other Tech 21 Character pedals. They do a great job for what they are, and I own two of them. But come on!
  5. StuartV

StuartV Out of GAS!! Supporting Member

Take your rig to the nearest GC and compare it back to back with an SVT CL, then decide for yourself...?

For metal, you should really get yourself an SVT II or SVT 2 Pro, rack mount it and add a bunch of other rack effects, etc... :D
  6. giacomini

giacomini Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Copetti Guitars
    Actually VTBass + real-deal SVT (or B15) is a great combo!
  7. vgbob

vgbob

Only one cure for GAS.
    Seriously though, you need both.....
    OK, really seriously, I have an SVT that I won't sell, but I also have a Spector Legend Custom that I would. It has the EMG 3band EQ which I actually like better than the tone pump. (also have a rebop) I just don't need two Spectors. PM me if you want to talk. You'll still have money left for an SVT.
  8. silvertones

silvertones

Guy! I'm 61 years old. I used to have the REAL DEAL way back.The GOOD ones but just to heavy for me to lug. The 4x10 box is bad enough.