W a r w i c k Bargains

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by hgiles, Nov 16, 2012.

1. hgiles

hgiles

I've noticed W a r w i c k s have a pretty precipitous drop in value from new. Should I even be considering a W a r w i c k?

Question: I've found two older German (but brand new) W a r w i c k s in a local shop.

08 C o r v e t t e S t a n d a r d 6 String - $1400
    06 Ash Blonde NT K a t a n a 5 String -- $1800

These are 'my' prices, of course. ;-) I really want a 6 string, but am not sure I want to pay what he's asking for that bass. Not sure I can trust the guy either. They are new basses though.

I started learning bass on a Ibanez 706 and want to upgrade, not out of need really, just out of an expression of a firmer, deeper commitment to playing bass. I'd really like a TRB6II if I can find a good one...

Torn. What's your thought?
  2. daveman50

daveman50 Supporting Member

What's with the mysterioso spelling (spaces between the letters of the word "Warwick" and model names Corvette and Katana)? Are you trying to make sure no one will find your thread using the search function? Just curious.
  3. bass10bfb

bass10bfb Prophet Low End Provider Supporting Member

This is just my opinion of course, but I love Warwicks. At the same time (IMO) you can find better deals on used ones than you can new ones. Warwick basses are on here all the time and you can find them with really good prices most of the time. I found a 6 string Vette Standard with Seymour Duncan pups on Ebay, shipped to me, for $750. Best bass I have ever owned. Warwicks hold up well and most seem to get better with age. I love all of mine. You just have to be patient and look. I watched Ebay and Talkbass for a long time before I ran up on that deal, but man was it worth it!!!
    BTW, I much prefer older Warwicks as well over the newer ones (just my preference). Granted, I can't spend the money to buy a brand new one, but the "newer" ones I have had just could not do it for me like older ones.