Waiting for Xerograph Deluxe, meantime...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bassfuser, Sep 30, 2013.

1. bassfuser

bassfuser Supporting Member

I ordered a Xerograph Deluxe a couple weeks ago and I understand that it's great and worth the wait. But I'm new to effects pedals and I'm jonesin' to get something to get started.

I'm thinking of getting the MXR M82 or some similar pedal to satisfy the craving. Does this pedal have enough differences that it wouldn't be redundant once the Xerograph arrives? Would there be a better choice? Or would I just be wasting my money?

Thanks.

2. Jared Lash

Jared Lash Casting out the nines Supporting Member

The MXR is a fundamentally different filter being bandpass (the Xerograph is a low pass filter) and yet I've found that the Xerograph can cover that sound fairly well if you use the 2pole mode, resonance bumped up a fair amount (2-3 o'clock for me) and the clean tone blended in with the wet (either 50/50 or 60/40 wet to dry for me) so personally I'd go with something else.

3. bassfuser

How about the Subdecay Proteus?

4. M Sterling

M Sterling Gold Supporting Member

I use a 3 Leaf Proton in conjunction with my Xero Deluxe. It's a nice alternative because it is a little "funkier" and the xero is a little "synthier".

I highly recommend the Proton.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassfuser

I got the Proton and really like the sound. You can tell is very well built and it;s nice because the pedal can be very subtle if you want. Nice 1st pedal for someone breaking into effects.

Thanks for the suggestion.

7. BigBassBob

BigBassBob

I've tried a few filters and my favourite so far is the Proton; it sounds great and its controls are simple but effective.

I am itching to try a Xerograph at some point but the Proton has been covering my filter needs.

8. bravesaint5

bravesaint5