Want to upgrade my MIM 2011 Fender Precision

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by kennesawbob, Feb 24, 2013.

1. kennesawbob

kennesawbob

I just bought a 2011 MIM Fender Precision and I want to upgrade her pups, pots, cap and wiring. I'm sure she needs a set up but I want to upgrade her first.

I'm new to the bass. I've been playing guitar for many, many years and I have a MIA Tele, MIM Strat and Epi Lp. My Tele I have left along. My Strat and LP have been upgraded.

Open ended questions: What pups would you recommend? (I play classic rock, blues and I will be playing bass with our Contemp Worship Band). I have Seymour Duncan's in my LP an I put Fenders 57/62's in my Strat.

I am open to all opinions!

Thanks in advance!

ImageUploadedByTalkBass1361735904.798465.jpg

2. sbpark

sbpark

There's no reason to upgrade the pots on the MIM's if they are working fine, at least in my opinion. Why do you want to replace the cap? Is there a particular reason, are you not happy with the tone of your current cap/tone pot, or are you just wanting to replace it for no specific reason? How much are you using your tone knob on your bass or do you just leave it wide open all the time? I replaced all the pots, wiring, and switch on a Squier CV tele I had, and kept the stock cap, but that's because the components are junk on those, but MIM guitars and basses have fine components.

My brother has a MIM Precision and he dropped in a Lindy Fralin pickup (stock winding) and it sounds amazing. He's mostly a rock guy (indie rock, post punk, poppy rock stuff and even alt-country stuff) and it sounds amazing. I dropped in a Fender '62 'Original' RI pickup in my '76 Precision and the bass came alive and each string is more defined now, round and has a nice growl to it, and more of an 'old-school' sound.