Wanted; Cheap, Durable Bass. Seattle.

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Suntower, Nov 11, 2012.

1. Suntower

Suntower

Hi,

I apologise in advance for the windiness about to ensue. New member. Old guy. I've been playing upright for many years... jazz, cuban, rock. Like a lotta guys I bow about as accurately as I spit.

Years ago I had an old plywood upright. Then one of the bakelite ampegs. Now I have a bsx allegro. All great. But I finally wanna get another 'real' upright'. It's not for the audience... frankly the BSX sounds -fine- out front. But for -me- I'm really missing the 'air' or whatever you call it, playing a 'real' bass. It's just not fun trying to work on bowing with an EUB.

Unfortunately, I'm pretty shocked to find that the days of getting a cheap Lewis or Kay are loooooong gone. I have -zero- idea on how to shop for one. I see lots of basses on-line for super low prices but I'm pretty skeptical of the idea of buying something like an upright on-line. Or maybe they're fine. No idea.

I used to go into Hammond Ashley (the big outfit here in Seattle) but frankly, they want to sell me a quality instrument and apparently I can't afford a quality instrument. :D And even if I could, the kind of gigs I play (bars) I'm scared to death to bring in a decent instrument.

In short, I just need a plywood bass that can play in tune and isn't particularly 'needy'.

So... if you were -me-... and you could spend, say $1,500 MAX, how would you go about choosing an upright. OR... is that just too little money today?

TIA,

---JC
  2. Nathan Levine

Nathan Levine

A couple of years ago Bryce sent a couple of Christopher 3/4 basses to a colleague of mine in the Anchorage School District. If HA is still carrying them, the Christopher basses seem to be quite decent for the money. Seems like they are one of a few Chinese manufacturers that consistently send good basses over to the U.S.