1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Warm and Fuzzy Tone for the Home

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Sanjwise, Feb 10, 2014.

1. Sanjwise

Sanjwise

Hey Everyone!
    I'm new to TalkBass forums and have been lurking for a few months now. I used to play bass in my late teens and early twenties, but was out of touch for almost ten years. I recently bought a beautiful Midnight Blue Rickenbacker 4003 bass (2005) used and have started jamming with friends again.
    I love warm and fuzzy bass tones from the 70's and 90's stoner rock. I listen to alot of Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Kyuss, Mastodon, etc.
    Right now I play through a fender rumble 150 at home and find the tone lacking in personality. Could be that I don't know how to set the EQ. I usually have the bass and treble knobs set at 1, and the mids at 2.
    Anyway, I've been thinking about buying a new bass head and cabinet for myself. I would play a little at home (very low volume) and occasionally when jamming with friends.
    I don't really know what to get.
    I want a tube amp, cause I have the impression that these sound the best, but everything I've looked at like, SVT300 CL, or Orange AD... seem to be a little overkill for a non-performing bassist like myself. I can afford about $1500 for a used head and cab set so, it might be worth to spend this amount of money.
    Can anyone recommend a really nice "heavy classic rock" bass head for me that would work in the home at low volumes and/or at jam session with friends.
    Is the rumble good enough, and I'm just being a spoiled baby?
    My local music store is selling a 1967 fender bassman with a 2x12 cabinet for $1000. It sounds pretty nice too.
    There is also a Ampeg B15-N available in my area, but it is pretty pricey at $1800.00.

Thanks for any advice!