1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Warwick WA 600 not very loud?

Discussion in 'Warwick Basses' started by Suatie, Feb 18, 2013.


  1. Suatie

    Suatie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delray Beach, Florida
    I just received this head and paired it to the WA 410 cab, although the sound is very clear, I am a bit disappointed that it does not sound as powerful as I expected it to. Definitely not as loud as the Ampeg Svt500, that I also tried in the same room before.
    I would appreciate to hear other's experiences, before I consider returning it.
     
  2. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    Hello Suatie - Is your cab 8 ohm or 4 ohm? For maximum power you must run the WA600 at 4 ohms. I find mine to be quite loud when running at 4 ohms. Thanks!
     
  3. Suatie

    Suatie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delray Beach, Florida
    My cab is the Warwick WA 410 at 8 ohms (is there a way to modify it to 4 ohms?)

    .... I have been playing around with it a bit more and I am getting happier, the clarity is amazing.

    I also found out that I can go up much higher in volume with no real distortion, I am not used to getting past the mid point on other amps, on this I was all the way up, and it got LOUD!!!

    I have decided to keep it and enjoy it.
     
  4. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    Ok, that makes sense. At 8 ohms you are only using half of the amps rated power. If you want to run at 4 ohms you can add another 8 ohm extension cab, or just use 1 - 4 ohm cab. And yes, you can run the volume quite high with no distortion, which is a feature of the WA/BC line of amps. Thanks!
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Suatie

    Suatie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delray Beach, Florida
    So to be very clear, if I get another 8ohm WA 410 and connect it to my WA600 I will get the full 600 watts at the same quality? Sounds like a no brainer
     
  7. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    Suatie - Yes, that is exactly correct. You can use any 8 ohm cab - in our WA series we offer the WCA410, WCA115, and WAC210. If you're running 2 - 8ohm cabs, the amp will be loaded at 4 ohms, producing the full 600 watts, with the same (or better) quality tone.
     
  8. Suatie

    Suatie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delray Beach, Florida
    Well I ordered another WA410...

    The dealer I am buying from does not have the casters for these, do you have any recommendations or size specs, they are pretty heavy as you know :)
     
  9. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    Suatie - I checked with our NY Custom Shop, and they have the casters in stock. You can email Dan at d.africano@warwick.de or call 212-777-6990. Thanks!
     
  10. Suatie

    Suatie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delray Beach, Florida
    You make me feel really good about purchasing Warwick products, your support is amazing to go along with great products.

    Thanks.
     
  11. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    My pleasure, Suatie - thanks for the kind words. Please don't hesitate to let me know if there is anything else you need help with. Enjoy your WA600!
     
  12. Frimo

    Frimo

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    I have a WCA410 4ohm cab and would like to pair it with a wca210 cab 4 ohm on top of it.. But that would bring the total impedance to a 2ohm load... Can the WA600 handle a 2ohm load?
     
  13. mikezimmerman

    mikezimmerman

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska
  14. Zarathustra3

    Zarathustra3 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    I have my WA 600 running through a 4 ohm ampeg cab and it's loud as ****. You can max out the gain and volume and there is no distortion.
     

Share This Page