Wedding bands: Breaking in

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bassnyc1, Jan 23, 2013.

1. bassnyc1

bassnyc1

Hi everyone,

For years now I have been wanting to join a gigging wedding band. I've been playing for 28 years, Berklee grad and I have top equipment so I'm not worried about the playing aspect of such a gig since like many of you, I've done a lot, experience wise.

The problem I have is how do I find these bands? Of course I've attended weddings before where there was a band but never got a chance to chat with anyone in the band. Is there a directory of some kind that wedding planners use that I could access? Do I speak to people managing wedding halls? I guess these questions could also be region specific. For myself, I'm in the NYC/Long Island area.

Anyway, any advice that anyone can give is always appreciated. Thanks.
  2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

A lot of the "good" bands in the NYC area are managed, so you'd probably need to contact the management company.

You can also contact any DJ or entertainment type companies. Planners and people getting married will book everything through them if possible. DJ or band, photographer, videographer, etc. They will generally have contacts and may be willing to give them out.
  3. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

There is a site called Gigmasters that lists bands as well.
  4. MrLenny1

MrLenny1 Supporting Member

Check out Booking Agents in the area.
    A few of my friends have wedding bands in the Boston area and work thru some.
    I have worked a few in the past and made very good money.
    The scene is way down now due to the economy but still some work available.
    Good Luck.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Factor88

Factor88