Weird and entertaining, live music acts...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by DagoMaino, Feb 7, 2014.

1. DagoMaino

DagoMaino Supporting Member

So admittedly, I love the absurd! I always have. Sometimes I see a musical act and it is just strange, but I am completely entertained. It may fall out of the normal bounds of mainstream music or involve some crazy innovation or performance art aspect... and I dig it, based on the appreciation that I have never seen anything quite like it...

This town has plenty of proficient players that can bust out some old jazz standards on a whim, but seeing a guy on rollerskates in a thong, singing into a tin can that is attached to another mic'd can by a string... well, that's not how I spent last Friday!

Curious if you guys can name any outlandish performances that pushed the envelope.

2. DannyBob

DannyBob

A couple of weeks ago in my local music shop, I was trying a bass out, and the place was fairly packed. Anyway, I started playing a hard driving bass line, and then I hear drums. Someone trying out the drums joined in. A little bit longer into out spontaneous jam a guitarist joins in. This carries on for a few more minutes before I have to stop, as I realised I was late for something; can't remember now.

So basically, music shop jam where I never met the other musicians.

3. BurningSkies

BurningSkies Supporting Member

I was in an industrial band, and we played with a lot of bands with interesting stage shows...like one gig in NYC with the Genitorturers.

The show involved a combination of punk/industrial/metal with healthy amounts of real S&M/bondage done on stage with fetishists from the local underground and some of the group's own people.