1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. We are currently evaluating the "One Post Per Classified Ad" policy. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Weird Oscillation Sound from Bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by RenR, Nov 23, 2012.

1. RenR

RenR

Sorry if I've posted this in the wrong place.

I Started learning to play bass about a year ago. I have an Ibanez GSR200. Even though it's a cheap-o bass, I love the thing and have taken great care of it. Yesterday I started getting strange sounds out of it.

When I first plugged the bass into the amp, it played fine for about 30 seconds. Then the sound started cutting in and out at a steady rhythm of about twice per second. It sounded like a really slow oscillation effect. Since the amp was borrowed, I thought there was some setting on the amp I wasn't aware of, so I plugged into another amp. Same thing happened - sounded fine for a few seconds, then the cutting out steady oscillation started. I changed cables to make sure there wasn't a short in the cable and the sound still persisted. It also seemed that the tone sounded a little "tin can" -ish. I finally went sans amp and plugged directly into my computers sound system, and still the same issue.

Since I've tried a new battery, different amps, and changing out the cable, I have to assume that it's an issue with my electronics. Any ideas? I tried turning down the separate pick ups, thinking either the P or the J were bad, but no matter what I did it still sounded the same.