Well, I did it, joining EUB club

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Selta, Dec 8, 2013.

1. Selta

Selta

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: EBMM
    Hey everyone,
    So, I finally decided to just do it and jump in to get things going. Last week the NS Design basses were 15% off on Amazon, so I got an NXT 4 double bass, and I start upright lessons tomorrow. Don't have a bow yet, but I'll be "fixing" that issue this coming week.
    Long term, I'm hoping to move from EUB to "real" upright in time - once I have money for a good upright and more importantly, space to keep and practice with one. But, for now, EUB will let me get started with the foundation.
    I've been playing bass guitar for about 12 years now, but I can't remember a time when I've been so excited to play an instrument. I'm also looking forward to how this changes my approach on BG. 2014 is going to be a very interesting year for me, musically!
  2. tcl

tcl Gold Supporting Member

Media:
    Welcome! Enjoy it! It's great that you're getting lessons and a bow. The bow really helps with intonation, and it gives the bass a more singing-like voice. For most of us, I think, it's kind of a long slog but if you enjoy it you won't mind. For me, it's definitely been worth it.
  3. Selta

Selta

Disclosures:
    Yeah. I was self taught on BG... I spent the last 2-3 years focusing on and fixing some of my bad habits. Instead of having to do that again, I just figured I'd get a teacher right off the bat and start off properly hah. Really looking forward to it. I keep plucking around on the EUB and man is it fun.
  4. kenneffdupriest

kenneffdupriest Supporting Member