1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

well that was dumb of me

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Casting Thunder, Jan 31, 2013.

What should I do?

Poll closed May 11, 2013.
  1. Tune like the rest of us.

57.1%
  2. Continue with your freak show tuning.

42.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

I've been playing bass for a year. I don't know any musicians and I'm 100% self taught. I play left handed because it makes more sense in my head but otherwise in life I'm right handed. I'm also dyslexic and it's apparently worst then I thought.

I've been working on learning chords, but it's been difficult; come to find out I've been tuning my bass backwards. The strings are in the right place but I've been tuning the E string as if it was the G string ect. What do I do now? I want to crawl into a hole but I want to take my bass with me.

Should I flip my tuning or stay as is since it makes more sense to me? :help:

2. tomsthumb

tomsthumb

wait, so, you learned your bass tuned in fifths? The fat string is a g? the 2nd fattest is a d? the third fattest is an A? and the tiny one is an E?

3. Technotitclan

Technotitclan Lurking TB from work

I used to do something similar but wont go into detail ( little embarrassing :bag: ) but the best thing that ever happened to me was a friend convincing me to go back to standard tuning/formation.

4. ffutterman

ffutterman Talentless Bass Enthusiast

It sounds interesting. I say just go with it, as long as you don't break your strings.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

yup

7. eukatheude

eukatheude

Try tuning it normally and see if it makes more sense to you. If you find out you can play just the same with your tuning, i'd say go for it.

8. SunnBass