Were you guys serious about Monster Cables...

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pbass6811, Jan 2, 2014.

1. pbass6811

pbass6811 Supporting Member

Media:
    having bigger connectors than other brands? I've been using the same couple of Monster bass cables for a few years and I've never had any issues with them in any of my basses, until a couple of weeks ago. Now, my Jazz, which I've had since August, is cutting out when I move around. I can push on the cable and it comes right back on, but when I start to move around again, it starts cutting out again. It seems to be even worse when I use my new wireless, which would make sense since the connector could be that much smaller.

The reason why I have any doubts, is because my Stingray isn't having any of the same issues. The Monster cable and the wireless pack both work just fine in it. I've changed batteries and cleaned the input jack, but it hasn't helped. If it's true, I'll have the input jack replaced and stop using the Monster cables, I just need to know if it's true?? Thanks! :help:

2. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Just take the plate off and bend the connector a little. Easy fix.

3. line6man

line6man

You're referring to a specific kind of connector they offer. It will be obvious whether or not your connectors have the spring loaded sleeve terminals by looking at them. If they have them, I would stop using them. If they don't, don't worry about it.

4. line6man

line6man

That's if the tip terminal is bent from repeated use. The springs on certain Monster Cable connectors are found on the sleeves.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. mech

mech

It's not the size but the weight that causes Monster cables to spring jack contacts. All that weight is not necessary for a good cable and as you have found out, it causes problems.

mech

7. agreatheight

agreatheight

I have a few Monster cables that definitely have bigger connectors that other cables I have.

8. Eric Moesle