What amp are you Kala Ubass players using?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by klaatu, Mar 21, 2014.

1. klaatu

klaatu

I have the Kala solid body and the acoustic/electric. When I first got them I was using my GK MB115. The sound was good but I wanted a bit more articulation, if that's the correct word. After reading many reviews here about the Genz Benz Contour, I decided to buy the combo with the 15 inch speaker. So far I like it better than the GK MB115, just a bit more articulation, and lots of variety of tones and I like the Contour adjustment better than the on/off button on the GK. Nothing wrong with the GK, but to my ears the Genz Benz Contour is sounding like a better fit. I am not a gigging musician for now, new player with just 4 years of playing, but I would sure like to hear my set up in a setting where can crank it up. I'm interested in what the other Kala players are using for amps and what you're liking. Also, thanks to other members here that gave me advice regarding the Genz Benz Combo! Looks like I may sell the GK, don't need 2 combos.

2. Cirk

Cirk

May be a good idea to keep the GK if you can. Always nice to have a backup IMHO.

3. 1stnamebassist

1stnamebassist

I use a Carvin MB15 with the 15" extension cab. I run my fretless hog through an fdeck2 hpf first. Sounds great. Also play a Goldtone Microbass through this setup with great results.

4. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

Anything with high input impedance, or I use my RedDragon or BDDI in between. Some amps don't deal with the piezo pickup.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Goldmember

Goldmember

Klaatu barada nikto!