1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What are Playing Habits/Techniques that Really Opened Your Playing Potential?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by RyanJD, Mar 13, 2014.

1. RyanJD

RyanJD Supporting Member

For me, it was the fundamentals that I never really nailed when I started playing.
    Using my pinky to fret notes and my right hand position to get different tones.

But now I'm feeling a little stagnated in the growth of my playing abilities.
    So what helped you guys become better players?
    Just practicing a lot?

I feel like my ear could use a lot of training. What do you do to get better at that?

2. davidhilton

davidhilton Supporting Member

Get a teacher.
    www.basslessonslosangeles.com

3. Rockin Mike

Rockin Mike Supporting Member

Use headphones when you practice to hear a lot of details you are probably missing.

I had a hard time getting my head around the idea that my right hand (i.e. groove, meter, timing) is more important than my left. I wish I spent more time on that when I was starting out.

BMGecko and Jay Q like this.
  4. OldDirtyBassist

OldDirtyBassist

Somebody showed me a fretting technique years ago where you play with all of the finger, not just the fingertip. It helps when songs are just too hard to keep up with.

Other than that; I think the internet, specifically youtube, has helped. If you watch enough bass instruction vids, you'll learn something, even without playing along. With youtube..you get to see a huge part of the competition that you didn't get to see as much a decade ago.

aquamentus likes this.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. skwee

skwee