What are some good fretless bass songs.

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Reg, Oct 12, 2000.

1. Reg

Reg

Does anyone know some good fretless bass songs? Any style, Any Artist,

I just started playing fretless and i am interested learning lotsa syles on this instrument.

Cheers

Reg
  2. Dave Siff

Dave Siff

Hey Reg,
    Check out the Don Henley stuff with Pino Palladino on it, like "New York Minute." Also, Henley's "Boys of Summer" is a cool line.. that was Larry Klein on bass, and I'm pretty sure it was fretless. Then there's Paul Simon's "Graceland" album, with Bakithi Kumalo on fretless. I'm probably overlooking a lot of stuff, but those are some good pop music examples.
  3. Acacia

Acacia

Check out anything with Steve DiGiorgio on it. HE's a fantastic metal fretless player.

By band Chronological order

Sadus:
    Illusions (Chemical Exposure) 88
    Swallowed In Black 90
    A Vision Of Misery 92
    Elements Of Anger 97

Autopsy:
    Severed Survival 89
    Fiend For Blood 91

Death:
    Human 91
    Individual Thought Patterns 93

Control Denied:
    The Fragile Art Of Existence 99

Testament:
    The Gathering 99

James Murphy:
    Feeding The Machine 98

4. Bassin'

Bassin'

Any recordings with Jaco Pastorious!:D

I especially like Heavy Weather by Weather Report.
    Jay Mastro likes this.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JazznFunk

JazznFunk

Disclosures:
    Lakland Basses Artist
    Some of my favorite recordings w/ fretless are... <drum roll>

Jazz/Fusion-
    Marcus Miller - The Sun Don't Lie
    Jaco Pastorius - Solo album and Weather Report's Heavy Weather
    Pat Metheny- Bright Size Life (Jaco Pastorius on bass)
    Alain Caron- Rhythm n' Jazz or the self-titled "Le Band" CD.

Rock/Alternative-
    Pearl Jam- Ten (Jeff Ament has some awesome fretless stuff on this album. Notable tracks are "Alive", "Oceans", and the opening and closing instrumental bits on the CD.)