1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What bass to buy??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stevarino, Jan 29, 2014.

1. stevarino

stevarino

HI all - I'm a guitarist most of the time, but have been playing some bass in my garage band and want to buy one. We play mostly rock/blues - Allman Bros, Clapton, Grateful Dead, Stones, Van Morrison, etc - and i like the bass line to be audible and "active/improvisational" vs just in the background. Recommendations for bass and/or amp? I don't mind spending some $$ (but like to keep bass under $500 - and i plan to buy used). Thanks for any ideas! I will be going out to try a bunch but any suggestions to help narrow down the universe would be great.

2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

Definitely try out a Jazz, Precision, and a Stingray. For what you mention I'm thinking the P or J is going to be what you're looking for.

Those 3 basses are arguably the 3 most recorded of all time.

3. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

+1. I'd probably lean towards the J for "active/improvisational". It's got a midrange growl that cuts through the mix nicely with more melodic playing.

4. Eric_71

Eric_71 Supporting Member

I'd say a precision will be the most bulletproof for you at this point and is pretty hard to screw up. A MIM P seems like a decent option.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. chuck norriss

chuck norriss Banned

7. mrb327

mrb327 Supporting Member

this is great advice. Under $500 should get a real good P, J or Ray 34.
    Also keep in mind where you are going to play to help determine what amp you will want.

8. stevarino

stevarino