What blues songs to learn? Rephrasing question

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tombolino, Feb 4, 2013.

1. Tombolino

Tombolino

Hi friends,

May I ask again..... what are some blues tunes but which have the classic patterns/ blues lines(minor, major, slow, fast, different grooves)? In other words, since Im new at bass (former guitar), right now im interested in nailing a variety of blues songs that have the must know classic lines because I think this will help me identify the scale degrees easier, and then later I can start with the more complex stuff that builds on those foundations and bass lines. Even better if your recommendations are gig-common.

So far I have learned:

Boom Boom
    Messin With The Kid
    Thrill is Gone
    Black Magic Woman
    Johnny Be Good

Thank you

Seb
  2. NYCbassist

NYCbassist Supporting Member

Here's a bunch I just had to learn. Definitely a workout getting them 100% tight.
    Pride & Joy
    Feeling Alright
    Trouble Is Knocking (Shuffle - A)
    Lime & Coconut (A-G jam)
    The Same Thing (Warren / ABB version)
    Milk Cow Blues (A)
    Dock of the Bay
    Black Magic Woman (Em)
    I Shot the Sheriff (E)
    Feels Like Rain (A-D, C#- D)
    Let The Good Times Roll (E)
    Call Me The Breeze (A)
    Rip It Up
    Are You Ready
    Beer Drinkers, Hell Raisers (G)
    Highway 49 (E)
    Confidence Man
    Better Watch Yourself
    Sweet Home Chicago (E)
  3. matey

matey

are there any easy ones for a beginer? thanks
  4. bassfuser

bassfuser Supporting Member

Get Ed Friedland's book "Blues Bass". It describes different styles and many examples in the form of Blues standards.

It covers virtually every form of Blues, Intros, breaks and endings. The standards are great songs including "Pride and Joy", "Hideaway" and others.

It would be a great book for a beginner. A lot of foundational concepts, even if you're going on to different genres.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. derrico1