1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What color is this?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Joshuadriller, Dec 29, 2013.

1. Joshuadriller

Joshuadriller

It's supposed to be a 62 reissue.
    ImageUploadedByTalkBass1388375450.158988.jpg

2. DanBass81

DanBass81

Lake Placid Blue. It can look quite different when photographed from different angles and in different lighting.
    Aged LPB looks similar to Ocean Turquoise

3. verycoolname

verycoolname

Looking at Fender's color chart along with this nifty chart about Fender's custom colors.

Could be Lake Placid Blue, but it looks a little more like Ocean Turquoise Metallic though, which means it wouldn't be a '62 Reissue (according to the chart Ocean Turquoise Metallic didn't come out until 1965).

That all being said, I'm not a Fender expert. Just Googled around for a few minutes.

4. silvertone

silvertone

This week I obtained a Cocobolo Topped '95 era Q5 from a TB'er whom I won't name out of a sense of disgression.

Upon reciept the bass had some issues with the electronics (disintegrated pre-amp/battery wires and per my luthier, a couple of bad pots.)

Also, the normally pristine "thousand dancing ladies." carbon fiber neck was somehow affected either by sanding to remove the gloss or (we suppose) was owned by a player with toxic sweat because the gloss has gone grey drab looking.

I am a player, not a collector so I'm not too bent out of shape about these issues and I'm lucky that my very talented and local luthier is Rich Hoeg, former master modulus builder.

I should have this back in my hands by early next week and ready for gigging!