What do you like

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Treyzer, Jan 27, 2014.

1. Treyzer

Treyzer

Aloha Bottom dwellers,

I've been using a great Walter Woods for many years but I'm thinking of getting a good back-up for the eventual retirement of my trusty WW. What do you guys thing would be a good back-up/replacement? All opinions are cool and valid.

Cheers

Trey
  2. kscbass

kscbass Supporting Member

I never had the opportunity of trying a WW but I really like the Euphonic Audio stuff.
    I've owned and played through GK, Ampeg, Eden, Phil Jones (this is my 2nd choice).
  3. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

I used an old WW 2 channel for years, mainly as a power amp towards the end. I suggest you try an EA micro or doubler. I like mine. A head from AI is also worth a look (may be closer to the sound of the WW?).

There's a lot of new, small, and powerful stuff out there. I'm sure most of us haven't tried most of it.
  4. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC Supporting Member

I've been quite happy with the EA Doubler as well.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Nathan Levine

Nathan Levine

The new 2 channel AI Clarus head with the Flex pre seems like a safe bet. It's a bit spendy at just under a grand, but AI customer service is second to none and that initial investment should keep you happy for a very long time.
  7. Phil Redman

Phil Redman

I've had really good luck with the Phil Jones D-200. The EQ section is excellent, it's quiet, light, and dependable. It also has a 4 megohm input impedance, which I believe gives it a more pleasing sound with many piezo pickups. I've used it with good results with Fishman Full Circle, and Upton 'The Source' pickups.
  8. Greg Clinkingbeard

Greg Clinkingbeard

Disclosures:
    Setup and repair/KRUTZ Strings